GUILTY

You loved me
But
You loved someone else more
I could see it.

So I
Unlaced my fingers
From your hand
Setting you free.

Emotionally
I didn’t let go
Never have
Never will.

Vows
Were exchanged
And
Promises made.

Time
Brought
Hurting
Things beyond human control.

If
Only
I had chosen
Another path.

Now
I
Feel
Guilty.
Written 5.17.17
________________

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. SauceBox
    May 17, 2017 @ 14:12:50

    Love it! Great stuff! You’ve got my follow. Check out my comedy blog and give it a follow if you like it!

    Reply

  2. thereluctantpoet
    Jun 28, 2017 @ 12:29:46

    I really loved this!!! Such feeling and emotion! It was really touching! Would like to know of this story?? A prequel? A sequel? Ha! Loved the lines “So I
    Unlaced my fingers
    From your hand
    Setting you free.

    That is such a heart wrenching line and something that is so hard to do in life!
    Bravo!!!

    Reply

    • thereluctantpoet
      Jul 08, 2017 @ 09:16:33

      So sorry to hear that! Thanks for clearing up the “Guilty” part. Makes sense. Sad that You felt you were doing what was best for him and it didn’t turn out that way. Life doesn’t always let you go back and recapture what “Used to Be”.

      You captured this in such an elegant and exquisite way. The feelings really came through for me. I am so glad I came back to this again.

      It really spoke to my heart and I have written a Response poem. I am not sure how soon I may be posting it but would love to have you see it now, if you like – chucklindholm@hotmail.com Thank You so much for providing such a strong inspiration that it resulted in a response poem from me!!!
      Chuck

      Reply

  3. thereluctantpoet
    Jul 08, 2017 @ 09:18:41

    No hope of rekindling? Life has moved on? A little nosy but curious about lost love. It’s such and inspiration for me.
    Chuck

    Reply

  4. Trackback: MY HEART FELT YOU BELONGED TO ME | Poet's Corner
  5. Trackback: MY HEART FELT YOU BELONGED TO ME | The Reluctant Poet
  6. michnavs
    Jul 09, 2017 @ 00:53:28

    I came here through Chuck…and oh my oh….how my heart bleeds for this..

    Reply

  7. thereluctantpoet
    Jul 09, 2017 @ 01:10:55

    Reblogged this on The Reluctant Poet and commented:
    Please Welcome Myra and her romantic post on shadesofpoetry “Guilty”. An example of listening to the head instead of the heart. Not always the best idea.

    Please visit Myra’s blog and check out her other works. This poem was so inspiring to me and I hope it will be for you! Pass this on if you like it.

    Reply

  8. wordsworthsmuse
    Jul 09, 2017 @ 05:37:40

    So beautiful and sad.

    Reply

  9. lindaluna583
    Jul 09, 2017 @ 16:08:22

    Seems like he should have been the one who felt guilty, but I definitely know how you feel. Love your poem. Reality expressed artistically

    Reply

Leave a Reply

